The Drop: Dirty Heads

Sponsored by Amoeba Music

Formed in 2003 in Huntington Beach, CA, Dirty Heads released their debut album, Any Port In A Storm, in September of 2008, which features the RIAA certified gold track "Lay Me Down," a song that spent eleven weeks at #1 on the Billboard alternative chart, more than any single that year by any other artist. Rolling Stone Magazine touted the 'Heads as one of the year's best new bands and they were among the first bands featured on YouTube's Raw Session.  The band followed with their sophomore effort, Cabin By The Sea, which saw three hit singles "Spread Too Thin," "Dance All Night," as well as the album's title track, "Cabin By The Sea."  The album debuted on the Billboard Top 20 and peaked at #8 on iTunes overall music chart, #4 on iTunes Alternative chart and #3 on iTunes Independent chart.  In addition to the immense fan devotion, press quickly fell in love with the album with Huffington Post declaring, "Summer...officially has its soundtrack." The band quickly followed up with their first-ever fully acoustic album titled Home - Phantoms of Summer: The Acoustic Sessions, which debuted Top 5 on the iTunes charts in the fall of 2013. For Dirty Heads, evolution beyond their reggae-rock roots has developed over time and is manifested on their new album Sound of Change. Join us, as we celebrate the release of the new album, which boasts some of the groups' most diverse and ambitious work to date. Sound of Change takes a literal meaning with the production of this album, as the band links up with GRAMMY-award winning producer Supa Dups (Nina Sky, Bruno Mars), Buddah Shampoo (Ty Dolla $ign), Niles (of hip hop duo, The Cataracs), Ward 21 (311, Major Lazer reggae collaborators) and long-time friend and collaborator, Rome (Sublime).  After an interview, the group will perform.